Janette K. Burgess


Janette Burgess is Professor of Extracellular Matrix in Disease Pathogenesis within the Department of Pathology and Medical Biology, Medical Biology section at University Medical Center Groningen, the Netherlands. Janette completed her Bachelor of Science (with honours) at the University of Adelaide in 1991 and her PhD at the University of New South Wales in 1998.  In 1999 she was appointed to a Post-doctoral position at the University of Sydney under the guidance of Prof Judy Black.  She has been awarded a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) (Australia) Peter Doherty training award (2000-2006), NHMRC R.D Wright Career Development Award (2006-2011) and a NHMRC Career Development Fellowship level 2 (2012-2015). In 2003 Janette was awarded the Ann Woolcock Young Investigator award by the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand and in 2007 The American Thoracic Society awarded her the Ann Woolcock Memorial Award.  She recently completed a Rosalind Franklin Fellow, awarded by the University of Groningen and the European Union (2015-2020).


Janette’s research focusses on the role of the extracellular matrix (ECM) in lung pathology. She is intrigued by the changes in the tissue and airway structures of the lungs that occur during disease development and progression and wants to know if these changes are a cause or a consequence of the pathology. Working with primary human lung cells, human lung tissue samples and patient clinical information, the research seeks to characterize the changes in the ECM that occur during disease in the lungs and to understand the mechanisms that underlie these changes. By novel in vitro cell models, ex vivo human lung tissue models and advanced microscopy imaging techniques she is unraveling the complex nature of the regulation of the ECM and exploring its potential as a future target for therapeutic intervention. This research links basic science to the goals of prevention and treatment of human lung diseases that afflict millions of people worldwide.

Click on image to enlarge

Martinez-Garcia, FD, Fischer, T, Hayn, A, Mierke, CT, Burgess, JK, Harmsen, MC et al.. A Beginner’s Guide to the Characterization of Hydrogel Microarchitecture for Cellular Applications. Gels. 2022;8 (9):. doi: 10.3390/gels8090535. PubMed PMID:36135247 PubMed Central PMC9498492.

Martinez-Garcia, FD, van Dongen, JA, Burgess, JK, Harmsen, MC. Matrix Metalloproteases from Adipose Tissue-Derived Stromal Cells Are Spatiotemporally Regulated by Hydrogel Mechanics in a 3D Microenvironment. Bioengineering (Basel). 2022;9 (8):. doi: 10.3390/bioengineering9080340. PubMed PMID:35892753 PubMed Central PMC9332414.

Al-Adwi, Y, Westra, J, van Goor, H, Burgess, JK, Denton, CP, Mulder, DJ et al.. Macrophages as determinants and regulators of fibrosis in systemic sclerosis. Rheumatology (Oxford). 2022; :. doi: 10.1093/rheumatology/keac410. PubMed PMID:35861385 .

Ikonomou, L, Magnusson, M, Dries, R, Herzog, EL, Hynds, RE, Borok, Z et al.. Stem cells, cell therapies, and bioengineering in lung biology and disease 2021. Am J Physiol Lung Cell Mol Physiol. 2022;323 (3):L341-L354. doi: 10.1152/ajplung.00113.2022. PubMed PMID:35762622 PubMed Central PMC9484991.

Migulina, N, Tjin, G, Faiz, A, Borghuis, T, Zhao, F, Kaper, HJ et al.. Differential roles for lysyl oxidase (like), family members in chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; from gene and protein expression to function. FASEB J. 2022;36 (7):e22374. doi: 10.1096/fj.202101553R. PubMed PMID:35670745 .

Nizamoglu, M, de Hilster, RHJ, Zhao, F, Sharma, PK, Borghuis, T, Harmsen, MC et al.. An in vitro model of fibrosis using crosslinked native extracellular matrix-derived hydrogels to modulate biomechanics without changing composition. Acta Biomater. 2022;147 :50-62. doi: 10.1016/j.actbio.2022.05.031. PubMed PMID:35605955 .

Rønnow, SR, Sand, JMB, Staunstrup, LM, Bahmer, T, Wegmann, M, Lunding, L et al.. A serological biomarker of type I collagen degradation is related to a more severe, high neutrophilic, obese asthma subtype. Asthma Res Pract. 2022;8 (1):2. doi: 10.1186/s40733-022-00084-6. PubMed PMID:35418159 PubMed Central PMC9006548.

Burgess, JK, Harmsen, MC. Chronic lung diseases: entangled in extracellular matrix. Eur Respir Rev. 2022;31 (163):. doi: 10.1183/16000617.0202-2021. PubMed PMID:35264410 .

Benam, KH, Burgess, JK, Stewart, AG. Editorial: Accelerated Translation Using Microphysiological Organoid and Microfluidic Chip Models. Front Pharmacol. 2021;12 :827172. doi: 10.3389/fphar.2021.827172. PubMed PMID:35046832 PubMed Central PMC8762276.

Gupta, A, Burgess, JK, Borghuis, T, de Vries, MP, Kuipers, J, Permentier, HP et al.. Identification of damage associated molecular patterns and extracellular matrix proteins as major constituents of the surface proteome of lung implantable silicone/nitinol devices. Acta Biomater. 2022;141 :209-218. doi: 10.1016/j.actbio.2022.01.016. PubMed PMID:35038586 .

Search PubMed


2015 – 2020                Rosalind Franklin Fellowship, University of Groningen & European Union

2014                                 Lung Foundation Australia/Lizotte Family Research Award for Interstitial Pulmonary Fibrosis Research

2012                                17th International Colloquium on Lung and Airways Fibrosis Young Investigator Award

2012 – 2015                National Health and Medical Research Council Career Development Fellowship Level 2

2007                                 The American Thoracic Society Ann Woolcock Memorial Award

2006 – 2011                National Health and Medical Research Council R. Douglas Wright Career Development Award

2005                                 NSW Young Tall Poppy Award Australian Institute of Political Sciences

2004                                 Inaugural Rebecca L Cooper Award Institute of Biomedical Sciences, University of Sydney

2004                                 The Denis Wade New Investigator Award (Australian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists

2003                                 Finalist Fresh Science. (Young Scientists presenting their research to the media during Science Week)

2003                                 The Ann Woolcock Young Investigator Award, The Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand

2002                                 The ASMR NSW Branch Johnson & Johnson Research Postdoctoral Prize

2001                                 National Health and Medical Research Council Industry Fellowship (declined in lieu of above)

2001 – 2004                National Health and Medical Research Council Peter Doherty Fellowship (deferred for 12 months)

1997                                 The Speywood Medal – Highly Commended, The Australasian Society of Thrombosis and Haemostasis (Young Investigator Award)

1997                                 The Baikie Award, Haematology Society of Australia (Young Investigator Award)

1995                                 The Australian Vascular Biology Society Young Investigator Award